campaign priorities

Webb is a microcosm of the society we want to live in.

– Michael Chang ’92

campaign priorities

Webb is a microcosm of the society we want to live in.

– Michael Chang ’92

Open Webb To The World

Dramatically Increase
Financial Aid
Significantly Expand Student and Faculty Diversity


$100 Million +

Foster Academic Innovation

Support Faculty Excellence
Field Study and Student Research
One-of-a-Kind Academic Partnerships

$70 Million +

Transform Our Campus Home

New Cutting-Edge Learning/Classroom Spaces
New Community-Building
Common Spaces
New and Renewed Student Dormitories
New and Renewed Faculty Housing

$30 Million +




The Science of Unbounded Thinking

Lisa Nacionales

Science Chair

“While we may not be able to conceive of the global problems our students will face in the future, we do know that the solutions will be cross-disciplinary and rooted in science, and so we are constantly evolving our curriculum to engage students in the scientific process, to reward academic risk taking, and to think in global, ethical, and inclusive ways.”

You will face problems for which you are unprepared, head-on. Discovery is a series of actions, not a theoretical process. Such ideas are embedded in the ethos of our school community. And they are embedded in the work of science.

Interestingly, a giant of science at Webb, and beyond it, Ray Alf was offered his first contract by Thompson Webb to teach biology, a job for which he was completely unprepared. In fact, he had not taken a single course in biology at Doane College, where he studied.

The summer before Alf was to begin, he found himself in Boulder, Colorado auditing courses in botany and invertebrate zoology. Though only auditing, Alf did the lab work and completed the exams, but received no college credit. However, by September was prepared to start his work at Webb.

Webb has always been peopled with teaching giants. Today, the Science Department is led by Lisa Nacionales, a brilliant teacher and academic role model, as well as an outdoor adventurer, rock climber and certified wilderness first responder (WFR). Nacionales joined Webb in 2012 and was elevated to department chair in 2018. Her department has forged one-of-a-kind academic partnerships with faculty at Harvey Mudd College, Pomona College, UC Riverside and Keck Graduate Institute.

“We have been fortunate to have cutting edge lab spaces that inspire creativity, to give students opportunities to do science outside of the classroom, to create partnerships with colleges and other institutions, and to provide support and growth opportunities for our passionate science educators,” Nacionales said.

Through Webb’s research-focused program, students learn to critically evaluate new scientific information as it emerges, ask questions, generate solutions to problems, and to find meaningful and culturally relevant connections between science and their lives.

campaign leadership

The Centennial Campaign Executive Committee

Blake Brown ’68
Rick Clarke ’63, P ’98
Jim Drasdo ’63
Susan Nelson P ’95, ’97
Sandra Lee Rebish ’88, P ’23, ‘24
Denis Yip P ’18, ’19

Board of Trustess 2021-22

Sanjay Dholakia ’87, P ’21, Chairman
Larry Ashton ’70, Chair, Raymond Alf Museum of Paleontology
Blake Brown ’68
Michael Chang ’92, P ’23
Deval Dvivedi ’00
Jenna Gambaro ’95
Wendy Hornbuckle P ’19
William Hornbuckle P ’19
Jennifer Ishiguro ’91
Naveen Jeereddi ’92
David Loo ’79
Christina McGinley ’84, P ’12, ’16
Julia Marciari-Alexander ’85
Rahmi Mowjood ’90
David Myles ’80
Mickey Novak ’70, P ’22
Melvin L. Oliver GP ’23
Janet Peddy, Director of Finance, Planning and Operations
Sandra Lee Rebish ’88, P ’23, ’24
R.J. Romero P’12, ’15, ’20
Miles Rosedale ’69, P ’92
Wendin D. Smith ’89
Taylor B. Stockdale, Head of Schools
Jordan Taylor ’02
Lara Tiedens P ‘21
Lance C. Williams ’97
Den Yip P ’18, ’19

Life and Honorary Trustees

William Chiu P ’21, ’21, ’21, Honorary Trustee
Jim Drasdo ’63
Hugh H. Evans Jr. ’49, P ’79
Anne Gould P ’71
Robert Hefner ’53, Honorary Trustee
Earl (Bud) Hoover II ’52, GP ’04
Murray H. Hutchison P ’80, ’86, ’87, ’89
Pak Fu King P ’19, Honorary Trustee
Ming Chung Liu P ’10, Honorary Trustee
Ann Longley
Claire H. McCloud P ’95, ’96
Kimball (Kim) McCloud ’67, P ’95, ‘96
Susan A. Nelson P ’95, ’97
Paul M. Reitler ’54, GP ‘13
John Rogers ’59, GP ’16, Honorary Trustee
Yafei Yuan P ’16, ’20, Honorary Trustee
Peter Ziegler ’63

Alf Museum Board of Trustees

Larry Ashton, Jr. ’70, Chair
Gretchen J. Augustyn P ‘89
Terry Baganz
Richard H. Clark P ‘04
Jeffrey Cripe ’08
Daniel Gluckstein, M.D P ’05, ‘08
Ronald (Ron) Hagander ‘66
James Hall ’59
Lexington Henn ’09
Gard Jameson, Ph.D. ’71 P ’08, ‘09
Jenny Kong P ’15, ’18, ‘22
Carl Lachman ’86
David Mirkin ‘66
J. Patrick Muffler ‘54
Michelle Plyley P ‘12
Mary W. Rose
Elizabeth Smith ’92
Charles Steinmann, M.D. P ‘98
Page Thibodeaux
Monica Atiyeh Whitaker ’96
Thomas Yu ’06
Tammy Zipser P ’94, ‘96

Ex Officio Members

Sanjay Dholakia ’87 – Chairman, The Webb Schools Board of Trustees
Donald Lofgren – Museum Director, President
Taylor Stockdale – Head of Schools

Other Members

Janet Peddy – The Webb Schools CFO/Dir. Of Finance, Planning & Operations
Kathy Sanders – Secretary/Office Manager
Gabe Santos – Collections Manager/Outreach Coordinator

Life Trustees

Anne Earhart
Sherwood Kingsley ‘58
John (Dick) Lynas ’55
Douglas F. Myles P ’80, GP ‘13
Michael O. Woodburne

Establish a five-year leadership pledge…

Provide a leadership capital gift to a special project…

Provide a lead gift to new academic building or renewed space…

Establish and name an endowed fund for a special project…

Opens an external link